Victorian Design Swiss Roll – The crowning of my blog

Freshly and Lovingly Baked on : 2nd Jun 2013

image

image

This particular swiss roll is on the heading of my blog. I have received requests on how to make it and the recipe to do so. This piece was done last year and I have a hard time trying to find the recipe again since it was written on a piece of paper hidden somewhere at home! Finally, I have time to dig it out. In fact, I have use this recipe for a few of the pieces of work as well.

When making this swiss roll, I basically prepared the parchment paper in advanced. First, I draw the design onto the parchment paper. This parchment paper should be cut to fit in the 28 cm * 28cm square cake pan. Basically you draw on the side that will not be in touch with the cake batter.

Ingredients:
The Egg yolks Batter
3 Egg Yolks
35g Granulated Sugar
80g Cake Flour (sifted)
1/2 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
60g Milk
35g Canola oil

The Egg White Batter
4 Egg Whites
65g Granulated Sugar
A pinch of Salt

Blue colouring
Charcoal Powder

Directions:

The egg yolks Batter: Sift the cake flour and set aside. Whipped the Egg yolks and sugar till pale and double in size. Add in the liquids (milk,oil and vanilla extract) and incorporate well. Combine the cake flour into the whipped batter and set aside.

Now work on your egg whites batter. Add salt into the egg whites and whipped. As they started to foam, add in the sugar gradually and whipped at high speed till stiff peaks.

Now the fun part begin:
Basically, to create the batter for the design. All you have to remember is in this proportion. 1 part of egg yolk batter to 2 parts of egg white batter.

I took out the necessary amount of batter to create the design. To which I add in 1/2 tsp of charcoal powder to create the colour. Then I piped it over the traced out design. Once that is done, I bake it in the oven for 1 min at 180 degree or you can choose to chill it in the freezer for 10 minutes.

When that is done, I will mix the remaining egg whites batter into the egg yolks batter along with the blue colouring. Once I achieved the uniform colour, I will poured this batter into the cake pan and then baked this for 15 min at a preheated oven of 180 degree.

Once done, I will remove the cake from the pan and remove the parchment paper carefully. I will flip it onto a kitchen towel spray lightly with water and roll the cake before letting the cake dry completely.

Work on the cream while waiting for the cake to cool.

Whipped Cream
300g Heavy Cream
55g Condensed Milk

Directions:
Whip both heavy cream and condensed milk together until thick peak. That will probably take about 9 mins. I chilled all the utensils needed to whip up the cream in the freezer 30 minutes prior to using it.

Assembly:

Unroll the cake and position it onto a fresh parchment paper. Spread the whipped cream onto the cake and roll it up. Secure with the parchment paper and chill it in the fridge for 1 hr.

Leave a comment