Home Made Puff Pastry – A liberating method!

Freshly and Lovingly Baked : 15th Mar 2014

image

I am hot. I mean really hot. Alright, I meant my body temperature. My hand is naturally rather warm for whatever reasons and hence making butter related bake that requires rolling and folding is really a challenge.

When I stumbled upon this way of making puff pasty, I am eager to try. The french way of making puff pastry requires a butter dough (beurrage) to be placed inside a dough (detrempe) and roll out flat. There will be a repetition of folding and rolling. This process take hours given a rest of a few hours is require in between folds.

This method which I am trying out today cut out the lengthy process by simply incorporating the butter into the flour and do the usual fold and roll without resting in between. It cut down the time spent on it. Although time is not an issue for me, I am simply eager to try out something new after being deprived of baking for a month plus.

Yes, my oven is back in action. And I am rolling up my sleeves ready for action.

Ingredients for the puff pastry:

125g All Purpose Flour
140g Unsalted butter
1 Tsp Salt
60g Very Cold Water

I did everything in advance. Measure out the butter, water, flour and chill them with the mixing bowl, spoon etc in the fridge. I switched on the aircon and cool down the room and I dipped my hand in cold water to cool them down.

First cut the butter into the flour and salt mixture. Do not overdo it. I basically use 2 forks and mixed them until it looks like coarse pea sized of butter coated with flour.

Then I pour in the cold water and mixed gently with my hand until they come together.

Next, flour the work station generously. And roll out the dough into a rectangle. Fold and roll for a few times before sending it into the fridge to be chill for at least an hour. If you like to see how to fold puff pastry, you can youtube it.

While waiting, I made a simple “marzipan”. A marzipan is usually made with almond flour. I do not have almond and so I decide to try out hazelnut. Grind them fresh.

Ingredients :
1/4 Cup Ground Hazelnut
2 Tbsp Brown sugar
2 Tbsp eggs

Mix well and set aside.

After one hr, roll out the dough and cut in shapes that you desired. I basically use 2 round cutter ( one smaller than the other) to create a well. Then I spoon some “marzipan’ into the well before positioning your desired fruits onto it. Give these an egg wash.

Bake them for 25/30 mins in a preheated oven of 190 degree.

Check out how flaky this puff pastry is. Its perfect!

image

image

Leave a comment